Today @ AK
Home > Programs > AK Teens > Future Curators

Future Curators

The 2015 Future Curators practice writing extended wall labels using the AK’s Collection. In the background is Robert Rauschenberg’s Ace, 1962 (left), and Ed Ruscha’s Electric, 1963 (right). Photograph by Steve Boyd.

AK Teens: Future Curators is a program designed to expose high school students to the museum field. Juniors and seniors in high school may apply for the opportunity to participate in the program as curators; students in grades 9–12 can enter their artwork to be considered for the Future Curators’ exhibition.

The after-school portion of the AK Teens: Future Curators program is for students in grades 11 and 12. Throughout the course of the program, students will learn the different components of creating an exhibition, meet with various Albright-Knox staff members, and organize an exhibition of artwork by local high school students.

Students are involved with multiple components of their exhibition, including selecting the artwork; designing the exhibition’s layout; and writing the wall text, in-gallery labels, and a press release.

Apply Now

Students in grades 11 and 12 interested in applying for the program should fill out the AK Teens: Future Curators Application and submit all required materials by the extended deadline of Friday, October 28, 2016.

2017 Call for Work

Students in grades 9–12 interested in submitting their artwork to be considered for the program’s exhibition should follow directions listed on the AK Teens: Future Curators Call for Work. You must be a current high school student to submit artwork. Work does not necessarily have to be from the current school year, but must have been created during the student’s high school years. Each student may submit up to three pieces. Work from all media will be considered; however, this year’s exhibition space allows for a greater focus on two-dimensional work. The deadline for submissions is Friday, January 20, 2017.

For more information, please contact

AK Teens is presented by the First Niagara Foundation.