Skip to Main Content

Programs for Veterans and Military Families

Albright-Knox Northland is a Blue Star Museum and welcomes veterans and active military servicemembers and their families to connect with exhibitions and events. We offer free admission for active-duty U.S. and Canadian Armed Services personnel and their families and Pay-What-You-Wish admission for veterans.

We will offer programming specifically for the veteran and military communities at Albright-Knox Northland starting in February 2020. Vets AK offers veterans, and their spouses or caregivers, opportunities to engage in group conversation in the exhibition space followed by a hands-on artmaking experience. Blue Star Family Workshops connect military families through exhibition-related activities and artmaking for all ages. 

Sessions take place on the first Saturday of each month from 2 to 4 pm. Tours change monthly and are structured for adult or family groups, as noted below. Space is limited and advance registration is required. To register, or for more information, please contact Access & Community Programs Coordinator Karen Duval at 716.270.8249 or kduval@albrightknox.org.

Upcoming Programs

Vets AK (Ages 18 and Up)

Saturday, December 7, 2019, 2–4 pm (at Veterans One-stop Center of WNY)
Saturday, February 1, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, April 4, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, May 2, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, August 1, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, September 5, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, October 3, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, December 5, 2020, 2–4 pm

Blue Star Family Workshops (All Ages)

Saturday, November 2, 2019, 2–4 pm (at Veterans One-stop Center of WNY)
Saturday, March 7, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, June 6, 2020, 2–4 pm
Saturday, November 7, 2020, 2–4 pm

Please note: Vets AK and Blue Star Family Workshops will take place at Veterans One-stop Center of WNY in November and December 2019. There will be no programs in January and July 2020. 

Program Sponsors

Vets AK and Blue Star Family Workshops are made possible through the generous support of the James H. Cummings Foundation, Inc. Endowment; National Fuel; and an anonymous donor.

More Artmaking Programs Explore all art activities and classes

Back to Top